We have seen both the White House and university campuses fail to respond to the coronavirus pandemic to defend our safety and security. This is even worse under an economic crisis. Without Medicare For All, universal testing, paid leave, and the release of detained immigrants and prisoners, the toll of the pandemic will grow and more people's lives will be shattered, either by hospitalization, death, or economic ruin.

Meanwhile, on several campuses, students are waging fierce fights for jobs, refunds, continued housing, rent freezes, and other policies to win economic security.

We in SDS call on students to stand up for the above policies that can end the pandemic with minimal deaths, unemployment, and poverty. We can and should continue to organize for our lives even in this time of social distancing, and this teach-in is dedicated to showing students how.

We invite students everywhere to tune into our virtual teach-in on Thursday, April 23rd, 2020, at 6pm EST, as speakers and activists talk about how to win these policies. We'll be hearing from a nurse in New York City on the front lines of the pandemic and from multiple SDS organizers engaged in campus campaigns to win economic security.

SDS Teach-In on COVID-19, Medicare for All, and Testing Now! Date: April 23rd, 2020 Time: 6pm EST / 5pm CST / 4pm MST / 3pm PST Link: TBA

#Covid19 #Coronavirus #MedicareforAll #Testing #PaidLeave #ReleasePrisonersandDetainees